Andy Priaulx, the Touring Car Champions

2002-2003 – Laying the foundations
After two years of inactivity – during the 2000 and 2001 seasons Bart was working for other teams – Team RBM joined the new European Touring Car Championship in its second season, with Fredrik Ekblom as a driver. The Swede took three podium finishes and ended up in sixth in the final standings. In 2003 Briton Andy Priaulx made his ETCC debut for Team RBM, defending the BMW Team Great Britain colours. Priaulx immediately won three races.

2004 – European Touring Car Championship title
RBM was only one of the three works teams representing BMW, but quickly established itself as the most effective. Bart Mampaey and his crew formed a perfect combination with Priaulx, a driver who showed his great skill in being fast and consistent. Together they were able to stay cool under pressure and always beat their rivals in the final sprint.

Andy Priaulx won the 2004 ETCC at the very last race in Dubai, finishing on equal points with his BMW colleague Dirk Müller, but with five race victories against three. In the course of the season Priaulx had the company of Belgian Kurt Mollekens as his RBM teammate during five of the ETCC meetings.

  • 2002 - BMW 320i - Ekblom

  • 2003 - BMW 320i - Priaulx

  • 2004 - BMW 320i - Priaulx

  • 2004 - BMW 320i - Mollekens