After being extremely successful in the WTCC BMW announced at the end of 2010 that starting 2012 it would return to the DTM, the most prestigious European Touring Car championship. Fans were eager to see their favourite brand compete in DTM again, especially after an absence of 20 years. During 2011, a season in which RBM did not participate in any races, BMW Team RBM was involved in building and developing the new BMW M3 DTM.

RBM-drivers Andy Priaulx and Augusto Farfus had been frontrunners in the WTCC, but in DTM they were rookies. By finishing sixth in the opening round at Hockenheim Andy Priaulx was the first to score championship points for BMW in the new era, while Augusto Farfus did even better during the next weekend at the Lausitzring, by scoring the first podium for RBM in DTM. The Brazilian, who started the race from the front row, finished in third. At the penultimate round of the season in Valencia Farfus scored the first win for the team. He finished seventh in the final drivers’ standings, as second of the BMW drivers, collecting the unofficial title of ‘Rookie of the Year’.

During their second season in DTM, Augusto Farfus was again part of the RBM line-up, while American Joey Hand took the place of the team’s stalwart Andy Priaulx. Farfus started the season in spectacular fashion, by winning the opening round at Hockenheim. At Brands Hatch the Brazilian looked set for another podium finish, but a gearbox issue put an end to his hopes. During August and September Farfus took four consecutive podium finishes: third in Moscow, runner-up at the Nürburgring, winner at Oschersleben and at Zandvoort. He finished second in the final standings, as the fiercest competitor of champion Mike Rockenfeller. Joey Hand scored points in half of the ten races, allowing RBM to finish second in the season’s teams’ classification.

No changes to the line-up for 2014, but there was a change of machinery: the new BMW M4 became the weapon of choice. Augusto Farfus took second at the Austrian Red Bull Ring, but failed to score in five of the ten races, retiring twice. Joey Hand’s best results were tenth at the Hockenheim season opener and at the penultimate round in Zandvoort.

  • 2012 - BMW M3 DTM - Farfus

  • 2013 - BMW M3 DTM - Farfus

  • 2014 - BMW M3 DTM - Hand

  • 2015 - BMW M4 DTM - Blomqvist-Farfus

  • 2016 - BMW M4 DTM - Martin

  • 2018 - BMW DTM - Eng

  • 2018 - BMW DTM - Eriksson

  • 2018 - BMW DTM - Spengler

In 2015 Tom Blomqvist joined Augusto Farfus at RBM. The Brazilian started his fourth consecutive DTM season for the Belgian squad, while Blomqvist – son of former rally world champion Stig – moved up from Formula 3. New in 2015 were the weekend’s double headers; even though the Saturday race was shorter than the Sunday one (and had no mandatory pit stop) the points available were identical. Augusto Farfus got his best results during the Zandvoort and Oschersleben weekends, scoring a fourth and a second in both. The Saturday race at the Zandvoort event allowed Blomqvist to score his first points in DTM, while he scored his best Touring Car result that time by winning the Sunday race at Oschersleben. With Farfus finishing second, BMW Team RBM scored a magnificent 1-2. Blomqvist would eventually be crowned Rookie of the Year.

In 2016 Maxime Martin became the first Belgian driver competing for the Belgian squad, while Tom Blomqvist started his second season with the team. Martin began his tenure on a high, by finishing the Sunday race in Hockenheim in third. Blomqvist continued the success streak during the following weekend in Spielberg, by finishing in second. He would repeat that result at the Norisring and at the Nürburgring as well. At the Norisring Martin claimed another podium finish, by crossing the line in third on Sunday. BMW Team RBM eventually finished third in the teams’ standings.

Former DTM champion Bruno Spengler and Maxime Martin defended the RBM colours during the 2017 DTM season. There was also the BMW Team RMR project, a joint venture with German BMW Team RMG, which entered two cars, one for Timo Glock and one for Tom Blomqvist. Glock made an impressive start by finishing the season opener in second. Bruno Spengler claimed third in the first race in Hungary, and Martin did the same the next day in race two at the Hungaroring. At the Norisring Bruno Spengler brought joy to the whole of the BMW community by claiming its first ‘home win’ in 25 years. Martin made it a one-two for BMW Team RBM and by winning the Sunday race he gave his squad a 100 percent success rate at the Norisring. Moscow delivered another podium finish for Spengler, while Zandvoort brought champagne for Timo Glock (winner) and Maxime Martin (third). Glock claims another podium finish (third) during the season finale at the Hockenheimring. BMW Team RBM proved to be the first of the BMW teams in the final standings, ending the season in fourth overall.

Bruno Spengler remains with BMW Team RBM and gets his best results of the year at the Nürburgring: second in race 1, fourth in race 2. Rookie Joel Eriksson, a former FIA Formula 3-driver, creates a surprise at the Misano round. In the dark – both races are the first night races in the history of DTM – and pouring rain he remains calm and takes a win. Austrian Philipp Eng takes a third position at both the Lausitzring and Hungaroring and finishes in eighth position in the final standings, as best of the rookies, just like Augusto Farfus (2012) and Tom Blomqvist (2015) did before him when driving for BMW Team RBM. In the Pitstop Challenge BMW Team RBM takes second and third. Note that at the Nürburgring BMW Team RBM celebrated its 100th DTM participation in the colours of the Belgian squad.

Philipp Eng and Joël Eriksson were joined by rookie Sheldon van der Linde for the 2019 DTM season. For the first time since 2005, when there was a single race at the Spa circuit, DTM raced in Belgium again. For BMW Team RBM it was its first real ‘home race’ in DTM. The return of DTM to Zolder rekindled an old tradition, and as expected the event was very popular with the fans. The first Zolder race was a huge success for the Belgian squad: Philipp Eng took his first win in DTM and Joel Eriksson crossed the line in second. The next day Sheldon van der Linde was fastest in qualifying, for what was only his fourth race in DTM. Two weeks’ earlier, during the first meeting of the season, Philipp Eng had taken pole for Hockenheim’s Sunday race. Eng took two second places during the course of the year, during the Sunday races at Zolder and Misano. The Austrian driver finished his second season in DTM as sixth in the final standings, which made him the best BMW-driver but one. Eriksson took a further podium finish at the Norisring (third in the Saturday race) and had nine top-10 finishes in total. Van der Linde finished eight times inside the points scoring positions. His fifth in Zolder’s Sunday race was his best result of the year. BMW Team RBM ended up in sixth in the teams’ standings.